Akash Dhotre
2 min readApr 1, 2021

If you are someone wanting to put your best foot forward and willing to navigate the job market in 2021. Here are a few nuggets that I followed to secure a position this year. And, I’m confident the takeaways are worth pondering upon.

It all started when I had to move out of IBM in the midst of a pandemic recession. I was uncertain about my next move, it felt like walking on thin ice. Being international students, we have to — maintain VISA status, search for employers (willing to sponsor), manage living expenses, and have emotional sanity throughout the uphill battle.

Let me know if this helps address your hurdles and may you find your next job at ease.

  1. Pause and accept the reality
  2. Improve your social presence. It works wonders!
  3. Understand the market landscape
  4. Upskill
  5. It is a number game
  • Pause and accept the reality.”
    That was the first step (and a difficult one). Bring a shift in perspective and consider it to be a new canvas that is limitless! I was ready to experiment, fail, dust myself and repeat it day-in and day-out. Sometimes, you are the driver, and sometimes you are the bug on the windshield.
  • “Improve your social presence. It works wonders!”
    I found recruiters reaching out to me once my social presence was polished. There is a ton of information available; which one to pick is entirely your choice! Personally speaking, mentors from the WIT Align team helped me big time to craft my Linkedin presence. They shared tech insights and resources that allowed me cut miles in building my professional network in a foreign land.
  • “Understand the market landscape.”
    I interacted with my career mentor regularly. His experience and guidance offered me several choices and the ability to make informed decisions. Today, when I look back, the learnings and lessons are worth gold. (And, I’m more than glad to share them with you!!)
  • “Upskill”
    Time is priceless, and you decide how you wish to divide your mind-space to consume content. A healthy balance is crucial!
  • “It is a number game.”
    The more interviews you appear, the better chance you weigh to be shortlisted. Iterate on resume, cover letter, elevator pitch, make more connections. And, if you feel lost, go back to the above steps!!

For more questions/inquiries, you can drop me a Linkedin request: Click Here! For a holistic approach, I’ll suggest reaching out to the WIT Align team at info@witalign.com and see if that helps.

A good curry does not need a million ingredients, but a few essential

Akash Dhotre

A constant learner in the field of technology and a passionate musician.